Cricket World Cup

CWC, Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International (ODI) cricket. The event is organised by the sport’s governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years. The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy is presented to the winners of the World Cup. The ICC decided that England should host the first tournament because it was ready to devote the resources required to organising the inaugural event. The West Indies won the first two tournaments, Australia has won five, India has won two, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka have each won once. The West Indies (1975 and 1979) and Australia (1999, 2003 and 2007) are the only teams to have won consecutive titles.

1975: First ODI Cricket World Cup 1975, India and England played the opening match of the first-ever World Cup held in England in 1975.

1979: Second ODI Cricket World Cup 1979, was also played in England between 8 International Teams, West Indies won successive world title.

1983: Third ODI Cricket World Cup 1983, was also played in England between 8 International Teams, India win the final match by 43 runs.

1987: Fourth ODI Cricket World Cup 1987, was played in India between 8 International Teams, England to victory in the final against Australia.

1992: Fifth ODI Cricket World Cup 1992, was played in two countries Australia and New Zealand between 9 International Teams.

1996: Sixth ODI Cricket World Cup 1996, was played in three countries India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka between 12 International Teams.

1999: Seventh ODI Cricket World Cup 1999, was played in England between 12 International Teams, Australia beat Pakistan by 8 wickets.

2003: Eighth ODI Cricket World Cup 2003, was played in three countries, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya between 14 International Teams.

2007: Ninth ODI Cricket World Cup 2007, was played in West Indies between 16 International Teams, Australia won World Cup title three.

2011: Tenth ODI Cricket World Cup 2011, was played in three countries, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh between 14 International Teams.

2015: Eleventh ODI Cricket World Cup 2015, was the eleventh Cricket World Cup and this world cup hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand