ICC Cricket World Cup 1975

First ODI Cricket World Cup 1975, India and England played the opening match of the first-ever World Cup held in England in 1975. England posted a mammoth total of 334/6 in 60 overs and Denis Amiss hit a fine hundred. India were never in the chase as Sunil Gavaskar played the infamous knock of 36 from 174 balls. India, led by S Venkatraghavan, finished with 132/3 despite playing their full quota of 60 overs.

First ever ODI Cricket World Cup was played in England between 8 International Teams. England, India, East Africa, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and West Indias participated for the first Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 15 games were played at 6 different venues of England.

England, New Zealand, West Indies and Australia were the teams that qualified for the semi-finals, making this the only World Cup in which no team from the Indian subcontinent made it to the semis. Australia defeated England and West Indies beat New Zealand in the semis. In the 1975 world cup final, West Indies, led by Clive Llyod, scored 291-8 in 60 overs, with skipper scoring 102 off 85 balls, and defeated Ian Chappell’s Australia by 17 runs at Lord’s cricket ground in London on June 21.

West Indies snached the 1st World Cup Trophy with good all round Cricket of super fast bowlers and classic batting preformances. In Final match West Indies beat Australia by 17 runs. West Indies skipper Clive Lloyd was man of the match for his extra ordinery match winning inning of 102 runs of just 85 balls. Fine weather blessed the first global one-day tournament culminating in an unforgettable final between West Indies and Australia at Lord’s.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand