ICC Cricket World Cup 1979

Second ODI Cricket World Cup 1979 was also played in England between 8 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indias and Canada participated for the 2nd Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 15 games were played at 6 different venues of England. Peace was brokered with Australian entrepreneur Kerry Packer, whose rebel World Series had split world cricket, shortly before the second World Cup.

ICC World Cup 1979, the second edition of the cricket world cup, was again hosted by England (from June 9 to 23) and won by West Indies. The format remained unchanged, with eight teams participating. These were England, India, Australia, Pakistan, West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Canada. The eight teams were divided into two groups and top two teams from each group made it to the semi-finals. There was no team from Africa in the 1979 world cup, as East Africa failed to qualify for the tournament.

India, led by S Venkatraghavan, were blown away by the pace trio of Michael Holding, Joel Garner, Andy Roberts, and Colin Croft. Holding picked up 4 wickets as India were bowled out for 190 in 53.1 overs. Gundappa Viswanath was India’s lone bright spot as the Karnataka hit 75 from 134 balls. In the second edition of ICC cricket World Cup, played in England, West Indies again claimed the glory, defeating hosts England in the final by 92 runs at the Mecca of cricket, Lords.

West Indies won successive world title on the back of some destructive batting and bowling. In Final match West Indies beat England by 92 runs. The final featured a brilliant hundred from Richards (138*), an even more brilliant 86 from Collis King, and a destructive 5 wickets from Joel Garner. Viv Richards was man of the match for his 138* runs.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand