ICC Cricket World Cup 1987

Fourth ODI Cricket World Cup 1987 was played in India between 8 International Teams. The first World Cup to be held away from England was also the first to feature neutral umpires. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and West Indias participated for the 4th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 27 games were played at 19 different venues of India.

India began their title defence in Chennai against Australia. India sent Australia in to bat after which David Boon and Geoff Marsh gave their team a strong start with a 110-run opening stand. The 1987 ICC cricket World Cup, hosted by India and Pakistan, saw Australia coming out victorious by defeating England by 7 runs at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 9.

England appeared to be cruising to victory in the final against Australia at Kolkata’s Eden Gardens when Mike Gatting tried a reverse sweep off opposing captain Allan Border’s first delivery and lobbed a simple catch. A well-drilled and disciplined Australia side went on to win by seven runs with the core of the team who later thrashed England in the 1989 Ashes series and eventually succeeded West Indies as unofficial world test champions.

The fourth edition of ICC cricket World Cup was hosted jointly by India and Pakistan from October 8 to November 8. From 1987 World Cup the number overs in each innings of a match was reduced from 60 to 50; the format of the game remained otherwise unchanged from 1983. All the eight teams that qualified in 1987 were the same as 1983.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand