ICC Cricket World Cup 1992

Fifth ODI Cricket World Cup 1992 was played in two countries Australia and New Zealand between 9 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, West Indias and South Africa participated for the 5th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 39 games were played at 18 different venues of Australia and New Zealand. The trophy of ICC cricket World Cup 1992, hosted jointly by Australia and New Zealand, was lifted by Pakistan, which beat England by 22 runs at Melbourne Cricket Ground on March 25.

India took on England in the second match of 1992 World Cup in Perth. The Mohammad Azharuddin-led side were handed a 9-run defeat after Ravi Shastri struggled, hitting an unbeaten 57 off 112 balls in chase of 237. Robin Smith’s and Graham Gooch’s 51 helped England post the match-winning total. Famously urged by their captain Imran Khan to “fight like cornered tigers,” Pakistan rebounded from imminent elimination in the opening round to defeat England in the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

ICC World Cup 1992, the fifth edition of the cricket world cup, was jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand from February 22 to March 25. For the first time, coloured clothing, white balls, black sightscreens and matches under flood lights were played in ICC cricket World Cup 1992. Imran, the greatest player to emerge from Pakistan, scored 72 batting at number three in his final match for his country. He also took the final wicket after his protege Wasim Akram had blown away Ian Botham, Allan Lamb and Chris Lewis.

Imran Khan’s Pakistan beat England in the first World Cup to be played in coloured clothing and under lights. Pakistan beat England by 22 runs in the final match. Wasim Akram was man of the match for his all-round performance with 3 wickets and contributing 33 runs of just 18 balls. Coloured clothing, floodlights and a white ball, all pioneered in World Series cricket, were finally introduced into the tournament.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand