ICC Cricket World Cup 1996

Sixth ODI Cricket World Cup 1996 was played in three countries India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka between 12 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, West Indias, South Africa, UAE, Kenya and Neterlands participated for the 6th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 37 games were played at 26 different venues of India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka, with the explosive Sananth Jayasuriya at the top of the order and Muttiah Muralitharan bewitching opposing batsmen with his prodigious powers of spin, proved worthy champions.

The ICC World Cup 1996 was jointly hosted by India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka from February 14 to March 17. In 1996, the number of participating countries increased to 12, with nine full members Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies and Zimbabwe and Kenya, Netherlands and United Arab Emirates as three associate countries. The 12 teams were divided into two groups, with 6 teams in each. The top 4 teams from both groups qualified to the Quarter finals.

Sachin Tendulkar’s 138-ball 127 helped India ease to the target. In fact, Tendulkar and Ajay Jadeja, who hit a fifty, stitched a 163-run opening stand. India reached the semi-final of the 1996 World Cup only to lose to eventual champions Sri Lanka in a controversial match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Four years later, the coveted tournament was again jointly hosted by India and Pakistan in 1996. This time, minnows Sri Lanka emerged as giant slayers as they defeated Australia by 7 wickets on March 17 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore to not just win the tournament but also change the face of ODI cricket for good.

Sri Lanka revolutionised the one-day format with their manic hitting in the first 15 overs, and won the final match against Australia by 7 wickets. Arvinda de Silva was man of the match for his unbeaten 107 runs and picked-up 3 wickets. Aravinda da Silva, their most accomplished batsman, scored an assured unbeaten century in the seven-wicket win over Australia in the final in Lahore.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand