ICC Cricket World Cup 1999

Seventh ODI Cricket World Cup 1999 was played in England between 12 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, West Indias, South Africa, UAE, Kenya and Neterlands participated for the 7th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 42 games were played at 21 different venues of England. The players as previous world cup wore coloured clothing, with names on the back.

After electing to bat, India posted 253 for 5 in 50 overs in their first match of the 1999 World Cup. Left-handed opener Sourav Ganguly shone in his World Cup debut as he hit 97 while Rahul Dravid chipped in with a fifty. In 1999, England hosted the ICC cricket World Cup after 16 years. But their dream to lift the cup remained unfulfilled. The tournament was won by Australia, which beat Pakistan in the final by eight wickets at Lord’s in London on June 20.

Then, in a semi-final between the same teams, South Africa needed only one run with four balls remaining in the final over with their best one-day batsman Lance Klusner on strike. A panicky runout tied an epic match which put Australia through by virtue of their superior run rate in the previous round. Australia with consistent performances won 2nd World Cup title. In Final match Australia beat Pakistan by 8 wickets (with 179 balls remaining) in 20.1 overs. Shane Warne (Australia) was man of the match for his 4 wickets spending 33 runs in his 9 overs.

ICC World Cup 1999, the seventh edition of the cricket world cup, was hosted primarily by England, while some games were also played in Scotland, Wales and the Netherlands. The tournament featured 12 teams Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Bangladesh, Kenya and Scotland. At the group stage, the teams were divided into two groups of six each. A team played the other five in its group once each.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand