ICC Cricket World Cup 2003

Eighth ODI Cricket World Cup 2003 was played in three countries : South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya between 14 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indias, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Canada, Kenya, Netherlands and Namibia participated for the 8th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 52 games were played at 15 different venues of South Africa, Zimbabwe and Kenya.

India survived a big scare against minnows Netherlands in their 2003 World Cup opener in Paarl. Tim de Leede came up with an inspired spell and picked up 4 wickets as India were bundled out for 204 in 48.4 overs. South Africa hosted the ICC cricket World Cup 2003, which was again won by Australia, which defeated India by 125 runs in the final at The Wanderers in Johannesburg on March 23.

Australia’s new one-day captain Ricky Ponting struck eight sixes in his 140 not out in the final against India as his team scaled new heights with a relentless 125-run victory. ICC world Cup 2003 was hosted jointly by Zimbabwe, Kenya and South Africa from February 9 to March 23. This was the first world cup being played in Africa. The tournament featured 14 teams 10 full member nations and four associate members.

Australia under Ricky Ponting Captaincy clinch their third World Cup title and second in a row. In the final match Australia win over India by huge margins of 125 runs. Australian skipper Ricky Ponting was man of the match for his superb 140* runs. Sachin Tendulkar, who would eventually go on to set a World Cup record for the most number of runs in a single edition, hit a fifty but there was no other major contribution from the rest of the batting order.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand