ICC Cricket World Cup 2007

Ninth ODI Cricket World Cup 2007 was played in West Indies between 16 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indias,Bermuda, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Canada, Kenya, Netherlands, Scotland and Ireland participated for the 9th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 51 games were played at 8 different venues of West Indies. This was the first World Cup to feature Powerplays.

India were handed a 5-wicket thrashing by Bangladesh in their first match of the 2007 World Cup in the West Indies. Sourav Ganguly hit 66 and Yuvraj Singh a handy 47 but India were bowled out for 191 as pacer Mashrafe Mortaza and spinners Abdur Razzaq and Mohammad Rafique ran through the powerful batting unit. The Carribean Islands hosted the 2007 ICC cricket World Cup, and the mighty Australian retained their glory, winning the world cup for a third straight time. This time, they defeated Sri Lanka in the final by 53 runs with some help from the Duckworth, Lewis method at the Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados, on April 28.

The tournament was overshadowed by the death of popular Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer at the age of 58 in his hotel room in Jamaica after his team had unexpectedly lost to Ireland. Police launched a murder investigation which led nowhere and a jury later returned an open verdict. ICC World Cup 2007, the ninth edition of the cricket world cup, was hosted by Caribbean Islands from March 13 to April 28. The 16 competing teams were initially divided into four groups, with the two best-performing teams from each group moving on to a “Super 8” stage.

Australia won World Cup title three in a row (Hat-trick). In a final match, Australian wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist led Australia to win over Sri Lanka by 53 runs (D/L method). Adam Gilchrist was man of the match for his 149 runs. Australia, fresh from a 5-0 Ashes series win over England, systematically destroyed all opposition throughout the Caribbean, finishing with victory over Sri Lanka in a rain-shortened final at the Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand