ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Tenth ODI Cricket World Cup 2011 was played in three countries : India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh between 14 International Teams. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indias, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Bangladesh, Canada, Kenya, Netherlands and Ireland participated for the 10th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 49 games were played at 13 different venues of India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Virender Sehwag smashed 175 off just 140 balls and a young Virat Kohli hit a hundred as India posted a mammoth total of 370 on the board. Bangladesh were restricted to 283 for 9 in 50 overs after Munaf Patel and Zaheer Khan shared 6 wickets between them. ICC World Cup 2011, the 10th edition of the tournament, was jointly hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. This was another special edition for India.

Not only did they win the trophy but they also became the first team to win an ICC Cricket World Cup on home soil. India defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the final played at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on April 2. Australia, rebuilding their team, missed the final for the first time since 1992 as India and Sri Lanka met in the decider, pitting Sachin Tendulkar against Muttiah Muralitharan.

The 2011 ICC World Cup was hosted jointly by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Fourteen national cricket teams participated — 10 full members and four associate members of the ICC. The first round of the tournament consisted of two groups of seven teams each. A team played all the others in its group once, and the top four from each group qualified for the quarter-finals. This ensured that every team played at least six matches.

Year Host Nation Winner Result Runner-up
1975 England West Indies West Indies won by 17 runs Australia
1979 England West Indies West Indies won by 92 run England
1983 England India India won by 43 runs West Indies
1987 Ind & Pak Australia Australia won by 7 runs England
1992 Aus & NZ Pakistan Pakistan won by 22 runs England
1996 Ind,Pak & SL Sri Lanka Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets Australia
1999 England Australia Australia won by 8 wickets Pakistan
2003 South Africa Australia Australia won by 125 runs India
2007 West Indies Australia Australia won by 53 runs (D/L method) Sri Lanka
2011 Ind,SL & Ban India India won by 6 wickets Sri Lanka
2015 Aus & NZ Australia Australia won by 7 wkts New Zealand