Afghanistan named fast bowler Hamid Hassan, who last played for the side in July 2016, in their 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup on. Afghanistan replaced long-serving ODI captain Asghar Afghan with Gulbadin Naib as part of wholesale changes to the team’s leadership structure across formats. While several senior players questioned the timing of the leadership changes before the May 30-July 14 World Cup, Afghan kept his place in the squad.

The spinners are the biggest strength of Afghanistan, touted as the ‘dark horse’, and they named three specialist world class slow bowlers in Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi and Mujeeb Ur Rahman. Rashid, 20, is the top-ranked bowler in the shortest Twenty20 format and third in the list of bowlers for the 50-over format.

Afghanistan Squad

Players Role
Asghar Afghan Batsman
Hashmatullah Shahidi Batsman
Hazratullah Zazai Batsman
Najibullah Zadran Batsman
Noor Ali Zadran Batsman
Rahmat Shah Batsman
Samiullah Shenwari All Rounder
Mohammad Nabi All Rounder
Ikram Ali khil Wicket Keeper
Mujeeb ur Rahman Bowler
Dawlat Zadran Bowler
Hamid Hassan Bowler
Rashid Khan Bowler
Gulbadin Naib (C) Bowler
Aftab Alam Bowler

Match 4
June 1 Saturday 6 p.m.
Afghanistan vs Australia

Match 7
June 4 Tuesday 3 p.m.
Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka

Match 13
June 8 Saturday 6 p.m.
Afghanistan vs New Zealand

Match 21
June 15 Saturday 6 p.m.
South Africa vs Afghanistan

Match 24
June 18 Tuesday 3 p.m.
England vs Afghanistan

Match 28
June 22 Saturday 3 p.m.
India vs Afghanistan

Match 31
June 24 Monday 3 p.m.
Bangladesh vs Afghanistan

Match 36
June 29 Saturday 3 p.m.
Pakistan vs Afghanistan

Match 42
July 4 Thursday 3 p.m.
Afghanistan vs West Indies