England

England

England selection chief Ed Smith hailed fast bowler Jofra Archer as an “outstanding” talent after including him in the tournament. Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Liam Plunkett, David Willey, and Tom Curran will lead the batting unit. Joe Denly, who has only featured in nine ODIs, is the surprise entry in the bowling department and is likely to serve as a back-up option for the spin duo of Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid.

There was also no place in the squad, captained by Eoin Morgan, for back-up spinner and batsman Joe Denly, with Hampshire slow left-armer Liam Dawson recalled as cover for Adil Rashid, who is nursing a shoulder problem. England, bidding to win the World Cup for the first time, reduced their qualification period from seven years to three, a move they insisted was solely to bring them into line with the rest of the world rather than advance the selection of Archer, whose father is English.

England Squad

Players Role
Eoin Morgan (C) Batsman
Jason Roy Batsman
Joe Root Batsman
James Vince Batsman
Jonny Bairstow Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Jos Buttler Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Moeen Ali All Rounder
Ben Stokes All Rounder
Tom Curran All Rounder
Jofra Archer All Rounder
Liam Dawson All Rounder
Chris Woakes All Rounder
Liam Plunkett Bowler
Adil Rashid Bowler
Mark Wood Bowler

Match 1
May 30 Thursday 3 p.m.
England vs South Africa
The Oval


Match 6
June 3 Monday 3 p.m.
England vs Pakistan
Trent Bridge


Match 12
June 8 Saturday 3 p.m.
England vs Bangladesh
Cardiff


Match 19
June 14 Friday 3 p.m.
England vs West Indies
Southampton


Match 24
June 18 Tuesday 3 p.m.
England vs Afghanistan
Manchester


Match 26
June 20 Thursday 3 p.m.
Australia vs Bangladesh
Nottingham


Match 27
June 21 Friday 3 p.m.
England vs Sri Lanka
Headingley


Match 32
June 25 Tuesday 3 p.m.
England vs Australia
Lords


Match 38
June 30 Sunday 3 p.m.
England vs India
Birmingham


Match 41
July 3 Wednesday 3 p.m.
England vs New Zealand
Durham