India’s World Cup squad after 12 years, trumping Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s heir apparent Rishabh Pant in a selection move a long time. The probable prospects for the No. 4 position – Ambati Rayudu and Rishabh Pant were left out from the 15-man World Cup squad. In place of Pant, Dinesh Karthik will take the charge as the team’s second wicketkeeper.

In the squad, Dhoni will be playing his fourth, expected to be the final, 50-over World Cup. Kohli will play his third edition while Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were all part of the 2015 edition. India captain Kohli’s pre-IPL statement that the cash-rich league will have no effect on the selections proved to be prophetic as Pant’s 245 runs in the T20 showpiece fell short of Karthik’s 111 runs.

India Squad

Players Role
Virat Kohli (C) Batsman
Rohit Sharma (VC) Batsman
Shikar Dhawan Batsman
KL Rahul Batsman / Wicket Keeper
MS Dhoni Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Dinesh Karthik Wicket Keeper
Vijay Shankar All Rounder
Ravindra Jadeja All Rounder
Hardik Pandya All Rounder
Kedar Jadhav All Rounder
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Bowler
Jasprit Bumrah Bowler
Mohammad Shami Bowler
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler

Match 8
June 5 Wednesday 3 p.m.
South Africa vs India

Match 14
June 9 Sunday 3 p.m.
India vs Australia
The Oval

Match 18
June 13 Thursday 3 p.m.
India vs New Zealand

Match 22
June 16 Sunday 3 p.m.
India vs Pakistan

Match 28
June 22 Saturday 3 p.m.
India vs Afghanistan

Match 34
June 27 Thursday 3 p.m.
West Indies vs India

Match 38
June 30 Sunday 3 p.m.
England vs India

Match 40
July 2 Tuesday 3 p.m.
Bangladesh vs India

Match 44
July 6 Saturday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs India