Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka dumped established stars including former captain Dinesh Chandimal to batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and Jeffrey Vandersay in World Cup. Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Danajaya, Niroshan Dickwella, Upul Tharanga were some of the big names that were not included in Sri Lanka’s 15-man World Cup squad. 21-year-old Avishka Fernando, who didn’t have a brilliant outing in South Africa last month has also been included in the squad.

Chandimal, who was one-day captain until last October, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, off-spinner Akila Dananjaya, openers Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga were all left out of the 15-man squad. Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Kusal Perera are the key players that are a part of the World Cup squad. The bowling department will be spearheaded by veteran cricketer Malinga.

Sri Lanka Squad

Players Role
Dimuth Karunaratne (C) Batsman
Avishka Fernando Batsman
Lahiru Thirimanne Batsman
Kusal Mendis Batsman
Kusal Perera Batsman / Wicket Keeper
Angelo Mathews All Rounder
Dhananjaya de Silva All Rounder
Jeevan Mendis All Rounder
Milinda Siriwardana All Rounder
Thisara Perera All Rounder
Isuru Udana All Rounder
Suranga Lakmal Bowler
Nuwan Pradeep Bowler
Jeffery Vandersay Bowler
Lasith Malinga Bowler

Match 3
June 1 Saturday 3 p.m.
New Zealand vs Sri Lanka
Cardiff Wales Stadium


Match 7
June 4 Tuesday 3 p.m.
Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka
Cardiff


Match 11
June 7 Friday 3 p.m.
Pakistan vs Sri Lanka
Bristol


Match 16
June 11 Tuesday 3 p.m.
Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka
Bristol


Match 20
June 15 Saturday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs Australia
The Oval


Match 27
June 21 Friday 3 p.m.
England vs Sri Lanka
Headingley


Match 28
June 22 Saturday 3 p.m.
India vs Afghanistan
Southampton


Match 29
June 22 Saturday 6 p.m.
West Indies vs New Zealand
Manchester


Match 30
June 23 Sunday 3 p.m.
Pakistan vs South Africa
Lords


Match 31
June 24 Monday 3 p.m.
Bangladesh vs Afghanistan
Southampton


Match 35
June 28 Friday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs South Africa
Durham


Match 39
July 1 Monday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs West Indies
Durham


Match 44
July 6 Saturday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs India
Leeds