Sophia Gardens

Sophia Gardens

Sophia Gardens, also known as The SWALEC Stadium, is home to Glamorgan County Cricket Club, Glamorgan County’s home since 1967. The Cardiff Wales Stadium is no stranger to hosting ICC tournaments, having been a venue for the last two editions of the ICC Champions Trophy, as well as the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1999. However, the first One-day International match was played here in 2002 between Wales and England which Wales won by eight wickets.

The only cricket ground in Wale to be featuring as one of the venues, it has a capacity of 15,643. Four matches in the World Cup 2019 will be played at the venue. It is home to the Glamorgan County Cricket Club and is listed as an international Test venue. Cardiff will host four matches in the upcoming World Cup. Hosts England play Bangladesh, whom they lost in previous editions of World Cup (2011 and 2015).

Match 3
June 1 Saturday 3 p.m.
New Zealand vs Sri Lanka
Sophia Gardens

Match 7
June 4 Tuesday 3 p.m.
Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka
Sophia Gardens

Match 12
June 8 Saturday 3 p.m.
England vs Bangladesh
Sophia Gardens

Match 21
June 15 Saturday 6 p.m.
South Africa vs Afghanistan
Sophia Gardens