The Oval

The Oval

The Oval will host five fixtures at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, including the opener between England and South Africa. Owned by the Duchy of Cornwall, the Kennington Oval, formerly known as The Oval situated near river Thames, has hosted ten World Cup matches since the inaugural event in 1975, followed by 1979, 1983 and 1999. Fans planning to reach the iconic venue can avail the service of London Metro: two underground lines the Victoria line which halts at Vauxhall station and the Northern line which stops at the Oval station barely 100 meters south to the venue.

Another extremely significant cricket ground for England, the Oval is located in Kennington and is the home ground of the Surrey County Club. It has a capacity of 25,500 and will be hosting five matches in the tournament. It has utmost historical significance to it and not just in cricket. It hosted England’s first international Test match, first international football, first FA Cup final and first Rugby Varsity match. The final Test match of the English season is traditionally played on this ground.

Match 1
May 30 Thursday 3 p.m.
England vs South Africa
The Oval

Match 5
June 2 Sunday 3 p.m.
South Africa vs Bangladesh
The Oval

Match 14
June 9 Sunday 3 p.m.
India vs Australia
The Oval

Match 20
June 15 Saturday 3 p.m.
Sri Lanka vs Australia
The Oval